11
Jun
10

How a gear set junkie vents…

Time for a rant

While I know that I should not be complaining so soon after returning to my blog and the game after my month long hiatus, but there are a few things that are absolutely frustrating me, and it all has to do with my vanity. While my guild is still trucking right along with our hard modes, killing everything in basically a day, there is an issue that I have with the loot tables that blizzard has bestowed upon our little guild. It has been two months since I have recieved a piece of gear which I would even consider using for progression fights, and there are literally multiple slots which have NEVER dropped in the history of our guild.

For one, I am wearing a 258 shield, not a 264, and deffinately not a 277 shield. It is depressing being one of the best tanks on the server and walking around with a shield that you can acquire in a PUG. There are also a few other peices of gear that I would have loved to have, but I passed to our other tank. Right now I am about 4-5k lower in HP than most of my brethern on MainTankadin who are at the same level of progression. We have been farming ICC for months upon months, and the tank drops have been non existant. I feel that blizzard has a GM sitting in our instance and silently chuckling away as he alters the loot table to remove any cool gear I could use, simply because I am a gear set junkie.

Do I need the gear?

No, the simple answer is that I do not, with the 20% buff, I have plenty of health to tank any encounter in the game, including heroic Lich King, however it would be very nice if I could buff up a few more thousand health so I could move some pieces of gear around and get some more threat. In the end, it is not that big a deal, but for the short term, it is a frustrating situation when you play a game week in and week out for rewards that never really come. I would say that it is rewarding just playing but we all know that gear helps you feel that sense of accomplishment when you dont have that much more in the way of kills for progression.

I sit and look at some of the tanks I talk to on MainTankadin and in the blogosphere, and they have all those juicy little loose ends of my gear sets that I dont have. It’s not that big a deal, because If I can do what most guilds in the world can not in one night, then it is better than nothing, but all the same, I want my shiny purple pixles damnit!

/end rant

12 Responses to “How a gear set junkie vents…”


  1. 1 Vorian87
    June 12, 2010 at 2:27 am

    I feel your pain. Been waiting to get a pally token for 4 weeks now so I can finally upgrade my crappy LDW10 dps helm to the sanctified plate one which is wayyyyy cooler and will let me get my 4pc ret bonus. Or the LDW25 dps boots which I saw for the first time in 5-6 weeks yesterday but went to a new person 😦

    Not to mention that putricide has not dropped his trinket yet either qq. And there isn’t much I can get either for my dps set off the bosses we kill, just the 277 gunship bracers, 277 gunship ring, 264 LDW boots, putput trinket and that’s really it.

    Ah well. Sitting on almost 200 badges waiting to get sanctified gear. QQ

  2. 2 Red
    June 12, 2010 at 6:17 am

    I stopped reading this article when you were QQing about replacing a shield and it was higher than ilvl 200… ICC mobs get to see my old lordearon shield, its almost embarrassing… Until I see the other tank and pally and shaman heals all wearing similar shields….

    • 3 Wrathy
      June 12, 2010 at 2:33 pm

      I’m gonna have to say that if you are a MT of a guild and still using an iLevel 200 Shield then you are more unlucky than I, or you are extremely lazy in not farming one of the four puggable instances that can give you an significant upgrade.

      • 4 Red
        June 12, 2010 at 4:37 pm

        Not everyone gets to be a MT, and not everyone gets to be the only shield using tank in a raid, and hell, guilds that raid on a regular basis get harder to find as the xpack goes on… But hey, everyone likes reading about the really lucky people.

      • 5 Wrathy
        June 12, 2010 at 4:43 pm

        I completely understand that everyone is not in an ideal situation, and I am sure that it does not help that I am one of two pally tanks we use (so I understand that you have to share). I did not mean to offend you if that is what I did, only point out that what i have is the best that has dropped for me. If I did not have this shield, I would be farming ToTGC in a PUG to get it.

  3. 6 Peregwyn
    June 12, 2010 at 8:20 am

    My guild does 10 man ICC. My 21st Marrowgar kill saw the Bonebreaker Scepter drop for the 1st time. We have DE’d the Citadel Enforcer’s Claymore a lot of times.

  4. June 12, 2010 at 9:21 am

    I feel your pain. The highly awesome (for LK) Sindragosa Stam trinket didn’t drop for us until the week after we killed H-LK. Devium’s ring (also highly awesome) has never dropped for the guild. Royal Crimson Cloak (hit/threat option) – does not exist.

    Our alt run seems to get more of the high end sp/crit/haste cloth pieces that all the casters and healers want than our main run does, but we’re basically sharding melee dps leather now.

    Loot tables and the RNG – sometimes you gotta love ’em.

  5. 8 Argon
    June 12, 2010 at 10:04 am

    I can’t complain in general about the drops we’ve gotten, but yeah, I’ve only seen the Sindragosa tank trinket and the Devium’s ring drop once each.

  6. 9 Obeyfez
    June 14, 2010 at 8:22 am

    Between 21 normal and heroic (10-man) Marrowgar kills, our raid has never seen Marrowgar’s Scratching Choker – both me and my fellow pally off-tank are still wearing our ToC necklaces from Lord Jaraxxus. I’m pretty sure the two of us are going to have an all-out e-fight when that drops – I kid, we’re much more civilized then that: we’ll roll fair and square, and the loser will never talk to the winner again.

    BTW – welcome back Wrathy.

  7. 10 Kys
    June 17, 2010 at 12:26 pm

    I’m with you, Wrathy. We have been working on ICC since its release and have been farming hard modes for a long while as well. Our tank loot drops are insanely abysmal.

    BQ Shield: zero 264, zero 277 drops. Yes, not a single BQ shield on either difficulty since ICC’s release.
    Slap in the face- Five heroic baubles. /wrists. On the bright side, the first two 277 tokens she dropped were Conq 🙂
    DW Ring- Zero 264, one 277.
    DW Boots- Zero 264, zero 277. Just like the shield, not a single boot drop off DW ever.
    10man Saurfang wrists- Zero 251, zero 264. Ugh.
    Lootship shoulders- One 264, zero 277.
    I think it’s been about two months since I’ve had an upgrade. It’s even more frustrating when I see all this crap drop like candy while I’m on my alts. I think I am cursed. :X

  8. 11 Charlie
    June 28, 2010 at 3:47 am

    I definitely feel with you here, Wrathy. While I haven’t raided as much on my paladin these past few months, I’ve been raiding every week on my hunter. It’s MM specced, and I use both Rawr and femaledwarf.com to make sure I’m getting the most I can out of what I have, and also making sure that I don’t just take every piece that’s an iLvL upgrade. I always make sure it’s a DPS upgrade, which is why I’m using 2-pc T9 and 2-pc T10 at the moment. But for the life of me, I swear ICC hates my hunter. For the first several months we never got the warrior/hunter/shaman tokens to drop. Since ICC came out, Deathbringer’s Will dropped for our guild 3 times in the first 2 months, and hasn’t dropped a single time since. I haven’t seen Whispering Fanged Skull drop on 10-man, ever. Took me 3 months to get my first tier token, and another 3 months to get the second. We farm Festergut every week, and the hunter belt has dropped once. The staff dropped once too, the week I wasn’t there. On the other hand, ICC LOVES our guild’s casters with a deep, passionate loot-filled embrace. I swear, every caster in our guild has Nibelung now, even in off-spec. Every freaking pull it’s like freaking March of the Valkyr. Where’s the love for the physical DPS?! We’re all left to fight over one trinket that may or may not drop again before Cataclysm. I cannot wait for the Cataclysm raid changes to loot and lockouts!

    My paladin is horde now, on the same server. Pugged into an ICC-25 run last week, decided to go in as Ret since I’ve been burned out on tanking. Low and behold, Deathbringer’s Will dropped and I won with a 97. For my off-spec. In a pug run. Yet it won’t drop for my hunter’s guild on alliance (my main raiding toon now) for a 5 month period? FML…

  9. 12 Charlie
    June 28, 2010 at 3:49 am

    Oh and don’t even talk to me about Satrina’s Impeding Scarab, or Heart of Iron, or Death’s Verdict. I swear I have the worst trinket luck ever.


Leave a Reply

Tweet-adins

  • What is this nonsense? HoPo and a total overhaul. It's going to be a long weekend of playing around.. 7 years ago

Categories


