06
Jan
10

Thoughts on Rotface and Festergut

Time for fun?

After killing Rotface and Fetergut on both 10 and 25 man, I will have to say that so far so good in Icecrown. Blizzard has made some fun encounters and some brilliant art work and mechanics. Last night was void of any tank gear, and we actually disenchanted quite a bit of loot as well, which is always disappointing because upgrades are good, and if no one wants them, then we aren’t benefiting from the loot that is dropping as a raid. I always love new encounter nights, they are long and painful, but very much enjoyable. I was up well into the wee hours of the night raiding because of the server lag and its influence on the speed at which we could clear the instance. We walked into the instance at our usual raid time, and immediately began to pull trash. That is when it happened, the lag set in and before we knew it, we had all 6 packs on top of me. We called for the raid to reset the pulls through the door, and I stayed back to be the meat puppet.

All of a sudden, everyone is running away, and I am at 0 health. My Ardent Defender proc’ed but I didn’t die, and I didn’t get healed back up. I was standing there tanking, and I looked like I had just popped an Ironshield potion. I was all blacked out, and taking no damage, so I decided to run, to save my repair bill. Through the first archway I went, and as I passed under it, the heal from AD proc’ed twice, two more animations, and 60% hp on the health bar. This was a sign that it was going to be a beautiful evening of oddities.

To tank or to kite

We started the night clearing up to the new content, and then starting to pull the trash. Contrary to some reports out there, the trash is AoE’able. Now we didnt do this on purpose, however the lag on the night caused a few more careless pulls, netting us two abominations, and ALL the adds behind them. It was an AoE fest with a few deaths, but nothing too serious. The real fun came with Precious and Stinky. After a wipe on Precious due to the fact that we pulled him along with a few adds who seemed to buff his damage, we had no problem with him. His counterpart, stinky was another story. I am pretty sure our healers were not ready for the decimate plus poison pulse, and we ended up killing him with most of the raid dead.

We picked ourselves back up, walked over to Rotface, and I went over the information that was known about the fight. Since I didn’t know how hard the boss hit, I put myself on the boss on our warrior on the adds. That was my first mistake. Our warrior was trying his best to kite the oozes, but was getting hit like a truck and went down. He got a battle rez and went down again shortly thereafter. At this point we made a bit of a switch. I went on the adds and our warrior went on the boss. The adds were a bit easier for me to handle between pursuit of justice, avengers shield, and my cds. The most difficult part of the first few kites is getting the first two oozes together. This is where your trusty mage comes in…

PRO TIP – The small oozes can be frost nova’ed by mages, if you are having problems with the first two oozes merging into a Big ooze, have a mage follow out the first person who gets mutated infection. When you cleanse it off of the person, the mage frost novas and the ooze is rooted in place. All you have to do is have the second infected victim run on top of the frozen one, and you get an instant Big Ooze

Once I moved onto ooze duty, the fight got a lot smoother. There are still a few more things you have to know about the off tank job. First off, the ooze floods are not completely random. They will only happen in a section of the room that has not already had a flood. This means that you want to start away from the nearest ooze flood and run towards it. By the time you get there, it should have disappeared, the ooze should have about 3 to 4 stacks on it, and you should not have taken any damage. If you have a problem with the randomness of what corner of the room has an ooze flood, it is better to freedom yourself and run through the ooze than to take the big ooze into the raid (as they have a AoE damage aura). Thats about it, rinse and repeat for nice shiny epics.

Somebody light a match

Festergut took about the same learning curve and Rotface for us. A few wipes to clean it up, and then a kill. Because the room starts off with all of the gas in it, and the shadow damage is quite potent, we opted to Bloodlust off the bat to give the healers a bit of extra power for keeping the raid alive till the first round of spores showed up. It is important as a tank to get the spore debuff, but not vital. You should not run away from the boss to try to get to a spore at any time. For tanks this is a simple taunt when i have X stacks type fight (similar to gormok’s bleeds or gluth’s ms stacking debuff). After we worked out all the kinks in the plan, we sent our less geared tank in first to take the damage when Festergut hits the lightest. He starts out hitting quite soft, but quickly ramps up to taking 30k off your life every swing, so it is imperative to have your better geared tank taking the damage when he has done his last inhale.

This fight is pretty straight forward and is more of a dps check and coordination check. While I say that, it is just as much of a tank gear check with the damage numbers that were flying around for us last night. There are a few things that you can do to help your raid out if you are in trouble. On the 10 man that I ran later in the night, Our warrior got rocked and died and we did not have a battle rez. The stacking debuf that festergut puts on you is cleared by your bubble. When I was at 8 stacks, the spores spawned and I called for everyone to move to the ranged spores (as they were both out there). At that point, I quickly mashed my /cancelaura DS macro, and cleared the stacks. This allowed me to tank him for over two minutes straight, and enough time for our dps to kill him before the enrage timer went off. This is more of a last resort thing for now, but later I am sure that our guild, and many others, will try to single tank it to see how fast we can kill him.

Gear Sets for the fights

While a few of my colleagues at MainTankadin were fortunate enough to be able to wear their threat sets to these fights, I was in full effective health gear with a double pot of an Ironsheild potion. Unless you are in a cutting edge progression guild, I would suggest that you go into the fight in your full effective health set, to see if your healers can handle the damage, and then move on to your other sets if you feel that your survival is not in danger. I may be completely off in my estimations of survival from last night because our server was lagging a lot (and as a result our healers may have been slow to get heals off), but its always better to be safe than sorry.

On to Professor Putricide tonight, as the encounter is “working as intended…”

10 Responses to “Thoughts on Rotface and Festergut”


  1. January 6, 2010 at 8:31 pm

    Here’s hoping for no lag on Thursday. We had enough lag on Tuesday to not waste pulls on Putricide 25, especially with the (unfounded) rumours of bugs. 10s weren’t laggy, and he was a lot of fun. I’m really looking forward to 25. Looks like you’re going to get there first, though.

  2. 3 Terayus
    January 8, 2010 at 6:41 am

    Sorry for posting off-topic. I’m new to his blog and new to the overall concepts discussed here and on maintankadin. I wasn’t sure if you’d see comments on older posts.

    As I assemble a prot set that maximizes dps instead of health, is there any reason to use a slow, ilvl 232 MH like Black Icicle over a traditional fast ilvl 251 tanking MH if I do NOT take any points in Reckoning? Is there a reason besides Reckoning to use a slower weapon with lower ilvl as I try to push more dps?

    • 4 Wrathy
      January 8, 2010 at 12:57 pm

      Reckoning will increase your overall dps, however the speed of your weapon will effect your dps with or with out that talent. If you are trying to push more dps, then a slow weapon will almost always be better than a fast weapon. Now that is not to say that you want to go get a grey sword with 2.6 speed and use that, but as a general rule of thumb on weapons that are close enough in other stats, you can use a slow one.

      I dont remember what page the initial graph is on from the TPS analysis that theck did, but there is a link to a graph here, which shows you that the black icicle is better than all but two tanking weapons for threat.

  3. 5 AnonTank
    January 9, 2010 at 1:06 pm

    I got a question: Are the little oozes tauntable? I was on ooze duty and was having tons of problems with the little oozes, moreso because i was also asked to cleanse the injected toon as well

  4. 9 Obeyfez
    January 11, 2010 at 12:52 pm

    Great blog. Really like your analysis on EH/Avoidance and different gear sets, definitely helped improve my game.

    Question regarding the Big Ooze – will Judgment of Justice slow down the Big Ooze?

    And do you think its worth specing into Pursuit of Justice? (I have 2 points in Conviction that don’t seem to be doing much good except giving me enough points to get to Crusade)

    I’m the OT (paladin) that has to kite and cleanse the Big Ooze. Did it for the first time last night, and while it required some skills, it seems like is should not too difficult however, my raiders with Mutated Infection keep running too far behind me and I either stop or try to do a U-turn to get the oozes to merge – which is when things go bad. I figure with Judgment of the Justice (slowing down the Big Ooze) plus Pursuit of Justice (speeding me up) – I should have some more ability to move around while kiting. Thoughts?

    • 10 Wrathy
      January 11, 2010 at 4:38 pm

      It was confirmed on Maintankadin that JoJ does not slow the ooze down because they don’t move at 100% to start off. I off tank because of the utility that we bring to be able to tank at range plus the added benefit of cleansing at the perfect moment as I deem appropriate. I run 2/2 PoJ and have for some time now, and I can say that for fights like this and Putricide, its very beneficial. A couple of points in Conviction is not really worth it in comparison to the 15% movement bonus, IMO.


Leave a Reply

Tweet-adins

  • What is this nonsense? HoPo and a total overhaul. It's going to be a long weekend of playing around.. 7 years ago

Categories


