03
Dec
09

Weight off my shoulders

The calm after the storm…

Last night I was a bit too tired, and a bit too excited to put  a lot of effort into a post so I thought I would just drop the screnie and the achievement completion on the blog. Now that I am rested, fully overwhelmed with work to do, and in need of a break, I thought I would comment a bit further on our epic kill and answer some of your questions. First, I am no photoshop wizard so I give you the prettier screen shot, courtesy of one of our officers:

p.s. thats me with the wings and the oversized monk on the left…

The Encounter

Over the past few days, now that we had a full raid to go into ToTGC to kill Anub’arak, were promising with respect to the attempts that we had. We were seeing progress with the modifications of our strategy from three tanks to two tanks. I had a steep learning curve when it came to picking up all four adds, and it took me a while to get everything perfect. Really the hardest part of this fight is seeing around Anub’arak’s gigantic hit box when trying to target the adds. I found that the best way to do this was literally turn your camera 90 degrees, and look at the encounter from the side. Once I figured this out, I was able to target the front to mobs and pull them with AS and Hand of Reck.

We had a mixed bag when it came to issues that caused us to wipe. The major issue that the officers knew needed to be fixed was the penetrating cold healing. Now this is not to say that our healers were screwing up or that they were not capable of doing their job. On the contrary, they were pretty pro at it. The problem was that they needed to see enough phase threes to get used to the mechanics and the fight. The past two nights of raiding did just that. We were successfully getting deep into phase three quite often and they were getting better and better at keeping people alive.

I think that one of the turning points last night in our raids performance was when our raid leader decided to start setting benchmarks. If you didn’t get to phase three this attempt, we are calling it and going to do some ToTC 25 man normal. Once that was said, we got him to 10% with out anyone screwing around on the kiting phase, or pulling aggro at the start of the encounter. After that, it was “better than 10% or we are calling it…” Unfortunately I dc’ed on that attempt as soon as we pulled. I ran in got on top of the permafrost, targeted the first add and nothing happened… I was off line.

Do-overs are ok

I got back in and we got him to 8%, not much of an improvement, but progress none the less. The very next attempt started off great, phase 1 down, and anub was especially low. Phase 2 went well, with a clutch BoP by yours truly on the second person being followed. Rinse and repeat, nothing special to see here folks, just keep plugging away. All of a sudden, phase three was upon us and it came quickly. I slammed my armor pot, picked up the first four adds, and they were dead before I knew it. Second set came and went. At this point I was getting nervous, we were doing well, most of the raid was up, and Anub’arak must have been taking enough damage to be quite low.

Third set of adds spawned and people started dying to PC. At this point the raid encounter gets a little fuzzy, and I am doing everything I can to stay alive, bubble wall, lavanthor’s talisman got activated, health stone, and all of a sudden I heard over vent, “Screw the adds, PUSH THE BOSS!” The officers had decided that if we get him to 5 percent and the adds were above 70% hp, then we were going to swap all dps to Anub and see if we could beat the spawn timer of the next set of four adds.

People were dropping, and army of dead was taunting the crap out of the adds. Then it happened, screams. The boss was dead, and I was one happy pally. It was so nice to know that I did not have to tank another attempt of that fight, because its quite stressful as the off tank, tricks of the trade and MDs aside, you still have to do everything in your power to get that initial aggro, and I continued to switch mobs the entire time that they were up so that the mages would not pull off me. Combine the constant tab targeting with the interrupt that had to go off every 30 seconds, and you have one stressful job.

To the victor goes the spoils

As soon as he was dead, I didn’t really know what to do, I usually check the loot on the bosses and see if there are any upgrades for me (yeah I know, I am a loot whore, but only so I can perfect my gearsets). This time, I didnt know what to do, I took a deep breath, and got up to stretch. When I got back to my computer, I checked the loot, and there was nothing on his body that I could use, Plate DPS boots, a melee dps cloak, the pole arm, and the caster mace. No go there, but wait, I am the last tank standing in the guild with priority on loot, maybe there were some juicy items in the cache. Alas, double vanquisher. Well, better luck next week for me, and for our happy DK and ret pally, who snatched up two pieces each, nice upgrades to already overpowered dps. Our dk pulled 11k dps overall on the Anub fight, while our mages were fast on his heels with 10k a piece.

Interesting side notes

The highlight of the night was deffinately the kill, however there was a close second that left us all with a unique story to tell for a while to come. We had been getting a few applicants to the guild here and there, but nothing to crazy. Two nights ago, a mage approached a few of our members and said he was interested in joining our guild. Now normally I do not get excited about mages, as we have two excellent mages that push their dps quite well. However, this particular individual has been on our server since the days I was a warrior who loved to PvP (aka a LONG TIME AGO), and he has always had a reputation to be an excellent player. I regularly remember charging at him with my Hand of Rag and hoping that I got some lucky burst before his POM pyro macro toasted me. He was online on Wednesday night, and we had talked to him about joining our guild. He said that he wanted to run a “trial” run to see how our raid atmosphere was, as the guild he was currently in was not his style.

We made room for him in our raid and took him on a trial run to Anub’arak hard mode. Most initiates would not get this type of chance, but he was part of the first alliance guild to implode who was in the top 100, and had many attempts on anub in the past. Having him in the raid gave us a bit of a twist to our great kill of anub’arak, as he was still a member of his former guild (also known as Titans of Industry, the guild that was competing for top horde spot on the server). The minute we killed Anub’arak, his guild got a nice little spam that said:

Snufyy has completed [Call of the Grand Crusade (25 player)]

He was promptly gkicked from his guild, and we invited him to ours to make him feel welcome in his new home. Now you have to understand that our guild prides itself on letting our actions talk for itself. We dont post on the general forums or spam trade or general chat when we kill bosses, we prefer our competition to find it our for themselves on the progression sites or wow armory. However, with this new development, the entire horde side of the server knew what we did by the time we got back to Dalaran, and I got no less than 10 whispers of congratulations in the first 10 minutes after the kill. That was a new feeling. Now, all that is left is my title and some loot, GIMME!

18 Responses to “Weight off my shoulders”


  1. December 3, 2009 at 6:51 pm

    I was under the impression that Titans were pretty much dead in the water. Shows how much I know about horde-side. Snufyy’s pro though, congrats on that pick up.

  2. 2 Wrathy
    December 3, 2009 at 11:06 pm

    From my understanding they are having some attendance problems, however they are still plugging away in ToTGC, slowly from what I understand, attempt counters really hurt guilds that liked to raid 5 days a week to clear content.

  3. December 4, 2009 at 1:26 am

    What kind of setup were you using to handle the first penetrating cold tick? Just the assigned healers, or did you have some sort of healthstone and frost resist pot set up?

    • 4 Kenji
      December 4, 2009 at 2:44 am

      We didn’t tweak too much, and we actually had a new PC healer as 1 of them was not on that night. We just assigned specific marks to each PC healer as priority targets with overlapping secondary ones. Although it did help at the start a little, after a few rounds of PC the healing kind of just transitions into “keep everyone alive” as some of the raid markings got kind of mixed up.

      The thing that helped us the most was consistently getting into P3, and experiencing the fight. If you’ve ever healed you’ll come to realize that there is a ‘rhythm’ to most fights, and once we started to reach P3 consistently and smoothly it was easier to get into the groove. (On the side: I”m one of the PC healers in our guild, and Wrathy’s earthshield buddy) Communication went a long way, we enjoy a pretty good chemistry between the healers in our guild and hardly ever have healing assignments. Our healer chat is mainly people asking if they can DPS instead and “O were pulling, keep ppl alive K?” We usually get the job done pretty well but the communication on this fight particularly helped in my mind.

      • 5 Kenji
        December 4, 2009 at 2:45 am

        Stupid me I didn’t even answer the original question, got sidetracked.

        We had healthstones and Might Frost Resist Potions. I was hoping they would pop their frost pot AND a healthstone on a PC but I’m sure no more than half the raid was actually using their Frost Pot.

  4. December 4, 2009 at 1:44 pm

    Wrathy,

    First off grats on the kill!

    Secondly I read you’re having to do everything to hold onto the adds once they are on you? I’ve been tanking it successfully for 3 weeks now with only 1 MD. What build are you using? Maybe I can help make your job a bit less stressful.

  5. December 4, 2009 at 3:02 pm

    Gratz dude.

    So with the 2 tank tactic, how many times did the massive hitbox allow you to taunt Anub’Arak!? Or am I the only one to do that 😀

    • 8 Wrathy
      December 4, 2009 at 3:50 pm

      I’ve taunted him plenty of times, but luckily our MTs have been quick to taunt back and I have not ate a freezing slash. As the time passed I got much better at my camera movement and pick up’s, so that I have a great view of the spawn points with out any of Anub’s hit box in the way. I am going to try to record and upload our kill next week and post it so people can see, because I feel that the camera positioning was one of the keys to my comfort level in tanking all four of them.

  6. 9 Wrathy
    December 4, 2009 at 3:46 pm

    Right now I am using my secondary spec on my armory, if you click on the picture of me in T8, it takes you to my armory link. Its a modified build that has a few mistakes that i just noticed in it, but its got 5/5 reck and SoCom. I need to drop SA for Crusade though.

  7. December 4, 2009 at 7:29 pm

    Here’s a link to my armory: http://www.wowarmory.com/character-sheet.xml?r=Illidan&n=Aderalia

    Build is awesome and once the adds are in range they will never leave =)

  8. December 4, 2009 at 7:32 pm

    Just noticed your glyph of holy wrath as well. Are you responsible for interrupts as well o.O

    The hammer glyph alone would make your life a dream.

    • 12 Wrathy
      December 4, 2009 at 8:49 pm

      So I have almost all of the talents that you do, plus I don’t really need SA because of the fact that we get hit 12 times a second. Secondly, I do interrupt on top of tanking. I am pulling low 6k dps on the fight usually, its just that unless I tab target, our mages who pull 10k dps are usually getting close to pulling off of me, so I like to keep the buffer. I tweaked my spec to look much like yours, but with out JotJ and SA since I don’t really benefit from either of those too much.

  9. December 6, 2009 at 12:15 am

    Unfortunetly for myself I have to keep a ret spec to dps at times so JotJ and 1 SA is must for me. I can’t believe you’re interrupting as well as single tanking the adds. Must be quite a feat! How much hit does your block set have? Any problems with wrath missing?

    • 14 Wrathy
      December 6, 2009 at 1:05 pm

      Yeah, as the primary main tank inthe guild I really don’t do anything but tank, so I always have dual spec protection specs. It used to be a mana conservation spec with benediction and 2/2 SA. Now it’s my Anub’arak spec.

      As for interrupting, at first I was doing it alone, and it would work most of the time. I would miss one every three to four attempts. Eventually I saw that it was way to unpredictable when it comes to keeping people up, so now we combine my HW with our ret paladins. We stagger them by about one second to ensure a duration that will stop the ss.

      I have 133 hit in my anub’arak set, which includes two 20 hit gems in my T7 chest and I eat 40 stam food. I am about 1% below unhittable as a result, but I haven’t noticed too many unmitigated hits getting through.

  10. December 6, 2009 at 12:55 am

    I don’t know how dependant upon your trinkets your block sets are, but the add tank on my ten man heroic found an interesting method for closing the hit gap. He goes and buys the Mark of Supremecy, which is an absurd amount of hit. then, when he’s done, he returns it to get his badges back. He’s never missed a stun yet. Trinket rental, for the win.

    • 16 Wrathy
      December 6, 2009 at 1:08 pm

      Unfortunately in 25 man the trinkets are a 100% must. I literally can not change out a single piece of gear unless it was an upgrade in avoidance and black rating.

  11. December 6, 2009 at 1:19 pm

    Wrathy,

    Would you mind posting your current block set? I was following it before but you must have had upgrades by now. Would like to compare.

    Thanks,

    -Ade

    • 18 Wrathy
      December 7, 2009 at 4:58 pm

      I have only altered a few things to drop some avoidance for hit, and get a bit more block value. I am about 1% under Unhittable, but I gained some BV and Hit in the process, and I have not noticed that much burst damage as a result. Here is the set I have been using for all of our attempts.

      In the end, there are not may upgrades from what I am wearing. You can use the 258 tier gear, but at this point im not dying so survival is not an issue, increasing block value is really the only upgrade I can have now.


Leave a Reply

Tweet-adins

  • What is this nonsense? HoPo and a total overhaul. It's going to be a long weekend of playing around.. 7 years ago

Categories


