22
Oct
09

Progress and Promise

Progress Is Good… Humility is better

Last night was a good night for me, I am still quite pleased with the results of a Wednesday night raid, and that is not a normal thing for our guild. It seems as though the prospect of a server first Anub’arak kill is enough motivation to get people to log on. Now I am not saying that we, the officers, had any disillusions that we were going to rock this guy in 20 attempts, as we have every other boss, but at the same time we have a lot of faith in our group to push this encounter and get it down in a very impressive time frame.

I will have to say that I was faced with a difficult decision last night. We had a raid, we had two tanks, and we had the offer from a non guildy with a block set to help. After much deliberation in officer chat, I admitted that I couldn’t do this alone with out a much longer learning curve, and we brought in a “pug” to help tank the adds. Now when I say pug, I don’t mean that we went into the looking for group channel and picked up the first tank, I more mean a seasoned tank on our server who was a member of the guild that just imploded a week ago.

With three tanks, a smoother transition on add pick ups and a raid stacked with 1 extra healer, we started our night of progress. Tuesday night, our best attempt, out of the 10 we did, was 80%. This was mostly my fault, as I was having a hard time learning the best method of picking up the adds. Last night, we far surpassed that on our first attempt, and only got better each time, with the rare exception of bad luck on adds interrupts.

Who Needs Hit rating? I DO I DO…

The biggest issue that we had last night, in repeating smooth encounters with perfect execution, was the interrupts. Thats not to say that it was the only problem, but from my point of view, and my faults, it was the difference between good attempts and great attempts. On more than one occasion, holy wrath AND shockwave would miss a target and a healer would get one shot. It begs the question, should I stack some more hit on my unhittable set? I am a solid 2% over the unhittable threshold and have the wiggle room to be able to get to about 120 hit. If I do that, I should have a much better chance at stunning all four adds.

My main problem at the beginning of the night was the fact that there is so much going on that I couldn’t monitor the cool down on my DBM bars. Once I repositioned and resized my bars, my interrupts got much better, and I was not missing them completely, just missing the hits landing on the mobs. All in all, if I could have a perfect world, I would have someone on interrupt duty, but that doesn’t seem feasible at the current time frame, especially when the two tanks usually get the stuns off with out a problem. During the learning period of the fight, I am ok with a few misses leading to a battle res, versus the depleted dps from trying to get that kick off in time.

Where to go from here?

I don’t really want to be too cryptic with respect to our progress, as there are plenty of guilds in the world that have anub’arak down, even that have tribute to insanity, but it seems that the race for our server’s first just got a lot tighter. As such, lets just say we got into phase three with some great consistency. With that being said, from a tanking perspective, we just have to keep doing what we are doing, and hope that everything else falls into place. I have been pulling the first set of adds that spawn after the sub 30 to the ice, then once they are in range, I use my Lavanthor’s on use ability, and do my best to manage my damage. I have found that once that on use is activated, the only damage that I am taking is from the leeching swarm. This is good news, as it makes healing me so much easier.

Wish us luck, as we truly feel that we will have this bad boy down in the next one or two nights of attempts. All I can say is that I am very glad that we have had a long drought of 258 tanking gear, because our dps is stellar, and our tanks are doing just fine. You can see it here first, I am predicting sub 40 attempts for a kill. I’ll have to get back to you on whether or not my prediction comes to fruition.

3 Responses to “Progress and Promise”


  1. October 22, 2009 at 1:04 pm

    I don’t know if this helps (also might be wrong) but I read that Shadow Strike always targets whoever is furthest away from the Burrowers, so you could have a decoy ranged DPS sit far enough out that they’d be the sacrificial lamb over a healer. Assuming this is right.

    Good luck in your attempts!

  2. October 22, 2009 at 8:47 pm

    Shadowstrike tends to target the furthest person away, but not always. It’s kind of odd.

    Sub 40 attempts would be extremely impressive. Good luck 🙂

  3. 3 Duht
    October 23, 2009 at 4:49 am

    Living vicariously through you, since my guild is struggling to get a full 25 interested in hard modes.

    Looking forward to the downed post.


Leave a Reply

Tweet-adins

  • What is this nonsense? HoPo and a total overhaul. It's going to be a long weekend of playing around.. 6 years ago

Categories


