13
Oct
09

Gondria and Loque’nahak Kickin’ it in the stable

I know this is a protection pally blog for the most part, but nothing new and exciting has has happened to my pally in the past few days. I have logged on every day, did my JC daily so that I could purchase the last pattern I needed to craft my Unhittable set gems, and I would run heroic Violet Hold every day for my stupid trinket. Twice now Lavanthor has appeared, and twice he has dropped something other than the trinket. I guess I have to continue to hope that I will get lucky before the week’s end. Other than that, I have been playing my hunter quite a bit, just because I don’t really need badges any more, and I was already saved to every instance worth running on my pally.

Taming a Spirit Beast…

Monday morning came with the same normal routine that I have had for the past few weeks, I logged on, did my jewel crafting daily, my cooking daily, and the Heroic Daily. Then I would plop myself into LFG for Heroic Violet Hold. After another unsuccessful run, I would log over to my hunter and repeat the dailies on my hunter. After that I was looking for something to do. I knew that later on in the night we were going to run 25 man Ony and ToTC, so I really didn’t have any raids to run. I decided that I would take a trip out to Zul’drak to search for Gondria. For those of you that do not have a hunter or know about pets, we have options when it comes to pets. The most elusive of pets are the rare spawns and a new class of pets called spirit beasts. There are currently three spirit beasts available to hunters in the game, and they all spawn in Northrend on 6-8 hour timers in multiple locations across the map.

Loque'nahak

Loque’nahak was the original spirit beast and spawned around the rim of Sholozar Basin. This is arguably the hardest spirit beast to tame because it is associated with the achievement to kill a rare elite in Northrend. Because of this, these spawn locations are camped by both hunters and achievement junkies. I tamed Loque back in december of 2008, right after I hit 80. It was pure luck that I stumbled across this beauty. I was farming herbs on my paladin and flying around my normal routine in sholozar. When I dropped down to pick an herb, the beast spawned almost on top of me. I taped her and got a mage friend to come out and keep Loque sheeped until I got my hunter out there. I logged on, had to port to Org to respec 51 points in BM, and hearthed out to Northrend. I was so worried that some alliance was gonna come by and gank my mage buddy. After a few nervous minutes, I tamed Loque’nahak and I became one of the first hunters on the server to have a spirit beast, on my alt none the less!

The search for gondria

Gondria was introduced into the game in patch 3.1 and was the new pinnacle of rare spawns. Gondria has five spawn locations that are scattered throughout the middle of Zul’Drak. Gondria was not part of the meta, and as such was a bit less camped when it came to competition to tame him. At one point when I was bored of doing dailies and running instances, I took my hardly played, T7 dusty hunter out there to search for spirit beast number 2. I was on a mission, and I really wanted this cat. Over the course of a week or so, I spent nearly 35 hours flying around ZD, watching movies, and hoping I would hear that illusive noise from my NPC Scan mod that searches for all rare elites at once. After that grueling week of tedious boredom, I gave up on Gondria.

At one point, a few months later, I was on my paladin in Dalaran and my NPC Scan blew up with Gondria. I would assume it was because of a glitch, or some hunter named the spirit beast that they tamed after the NPC. None the less, it was a nice little kick to the groin that I spent so much time with so little success. A few more months have passed since that day, and yesterday I decided that I would kill some time before the raid and fly around Zul’Drak. I started at about 3pm, and popped in a movie at the same time. Searching for a spirit beast is about as entertaining as leveling up fishing so you usually distract yourself as much as possible.

Two and a half hours had passed and it was getting close to raid time. I was winding down what was turning out to be another few hours of wasted time in game, when my phone rang. As I was talking on the phone, watching a movie, and not paying any attention what so ever to my computer, my speakers blew up! There were red flashing lights everywhere and my NPC scan had a lovely little box that said GONDRIA FOUND! I quickly clicked the box, found gondria, and dismounted. I had to abandon my pet, which at the time was a purple Raptor I affectionately called Barney for both the silly children’s TV icon as well as my favorite character on the tv show, How I Met Your Mother. After 20 seconds of suspense, I had my second spirit beast!

Gondria

Two Down, One To Go!

The third and final spirit beast in the game at the current time is Skoll. Skoll is a bright blue wolf with lightening shooting out of him. He is by far one of the coolest looking pets in the game, and that is saying a lot from a guy who thinks that the wolves look like crap in this game. I have a wolf as my raiding pet, but only because it is the best pet for dps. If there was no difference in the buffs that your pet gave you and the dps that they did, I would go back to using a cat. Anyways, back to Skoll. I don’t know if I have it in me to pick up Skoll. That would be the third Spirit Beast that I would have, and it would force me to make some rather difficult decisions when it comes to stable space. A hunter, when maxed out, has room for 5 pets, the one that he takes along with him, and four stable spots. Currently my stable is filled up with only rare pets and untamable pets. Deciding which one to get rid of may be more than I want to do.

I have Loque’nahak, Gondria (both of which can only be used when you are BM, limiting their play time considerably because BM is not what I raid as), Uhk’lok ( a rare gorilla out of Un’Goro that is all white with a blue face), and the Sapphire Hive Queen (per BRK – the LSD Wasp of doom) which is no longer tamable. Now while I no longer use the gorilla, and I could easily camp the spawn location, It just is not enough to make me get rid of it. This leaves me with the difficult decision of skipping any further spirit beasts until blizzard allows us to have more stable slots.

In the end, I am completely happy with the pets that I have, and after getting back into reading a few hunter blogs, I missed the thrill of the hunt! I guess I will just go on with my wolf until the day where Blizzard thinks that wolves have had their day in the sun and buff another pet, at which time I will head right over to Petopia and find the rarest and coolest looking pet on the market.

0 Responses to “Gondria and Loque’nahak Kickin’ it in the stable”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Tweet-adins

  • What is this nonsense? HoPo and a total overhaul. It's going to be a long weekend of playing around.. 6 years ago

Categories


