04
Jan
10

Not Looking for Heroics…

Vindictive people suck

I rarely bitch and moan about these type of things on my blog, but today I was faced with one of those individuals for whom you truly wish would get what is coming to them. I know that WoW is a game, and that for a small monthly fee, you are basically allowed to do what ever you please with your character, however I ran into a new and painful method of greifing which I hope blizzard fixes quite soon.

I logged on this morning to do my daily heroic on my toons, another one of those great inventions that I must thank blizzard for in the future (lets put people that can kill Heroic Dungeon bosses in less than 20 seconds back in there so they can revisit the encounters and think of better days) for the Emblem of Frost system that has allowed everyone to get the gear that they want at little to no true difficulty, and make the people that will actually put it to good use farm for months on end. Ok, sorry about that little rant, I’m ok now.

Back to the story, I logged on, queued for a dungeon with a few guildies, and got a pug healer and dps. We zoned into the lorefest of an instance that is Caverns of Time, and quickly went about our business of waiting for Arathas’s slow ass to make it to the start of the zone. Once we got going, everything was fine, but I noticed that our healer was in full pvp gear, disc spec, and basically throwing bubbles out and /afk. I think that if there was a tank in there which wasnt as geared he would have been kicked before the first boss. Well, no matter for our group, I have like 50k hp and can heal myself. First boss up, first boss down in record time. Second boss up, Second boss down just as quick.

moving on to the final gauntlet with 11 minutes left on the timer for the bronze drake, and the priest says:

Sorry guys, I gotta take off, good luck, yes yes I really have to go even though we are 3 minutes from clearing the instance…

and promptly teleports out of the dungeon. For the first 30 seconds, I thought maybe something was wrong, or he had to help his gramdam because she fell down the stairs. But as time passed, it was obvious that he intentionally left the instance, while staying in the party so that we could not get another healer into the instance. We tried inviting a guildy to the party, and found that we had saved him but he couldn’t get in the instance. After about 10 minutes of trying to figure out how to get this guy out of our party, all the while reciving messages which told us we could not Vote to Kick this player at the current time, we ended up having to disband the group and run a whole new instance.

While normally its not that big of a deal, I understand if people have to go, or if an emergency comes up, but this guy was doing it on purpose, just to spite us. Since he was out of the instance, and on another server, I couldn’t kick him, I couldn’t ignore him, we were just forced to run another instance due to someones idea of a sick joke. I really hope blizzard fixes this kind of thing. They should put a time limit on trips away from the dungeon before you are automatically kicked. Needless to say, after that experience, until the system is changed, I will be running my 1 a day with guildies and no more charity work for the needy.


7 Responses to “Not Looking for Heroics…”


  1. January 5, 2010 at 1:04 am

    I didn’t realise they could lock you out like that. What kind of error do you get when trying to vote kick them?

  2. January 5, 2010 at 1:36 am

    You can’t vote kick someone until 15 minutes after entering the instance. I don’t know if that’s what was causing you the error. I’ve never run into anyone who was that much of a bitch. I’ve had some annoying pricks from Illidan, but nothing of that magnitude.

  3. 3 Fugee
    January 5, 2010 at 4:03 am

    You can ignore people from other servers, although this wouldn’t help here. “/ignore PlayerName-ServerName” works just fine.

    I once had a similar idiot mage in my pug. He was pulling everything and iceblocking if I let mobs get to him. They would go for our healer and I eventually had to taunt. He was also needing on absolutely everything. He joined with a guildie and I don’t think we could vote-kick with just 3 votes? Even if we could most heroics are over in 15 minutes :(

  4. 4 UFTimmy
    January 5, 2010 at 5:59 am

    Had a similar experience in Oculus. The healer refused to continue, he just sat the drake guy. One party member refused to votekick, cause “they’re the healer”, and I just had to drop group. Frustrating.

  5. January 5, 2010 at 5:59 am

    I haven’t ever seen that happen as yet like that but will watch out for it if it does. I can maybe only think it was the 15 min timer, but then due to the time it takes for CoT to start on zoning in and time to get to the first couple waves at that im sure 15 mins would of passed or close to it so that you could remove a player. And given that you spent another 10 mins to remove the player that kinda killed the 15 mins cooldown on the dungeon idea to remove a player which should of more than passed.

    So not sure why couldn’t remove player but probably for all the reasons you listed due to cross server setup on random. Should be something Blizz be aware of that if your away from the instance for a period of time you get a times to automatically remove you if not in the dungeon maybe before it counts down. Or some other idea solution. I’ve been in quite a few heroics where just out the blue a healer just quit the group no explanation while in and out of combat but never had one zone out and stay out like that ……yet.

    No matter the player whether you dps, tank, healer in the new random heroics no matter your gear level or skill level you will run into asshats of players if you run enough of them. And you only need one player in your group like that to make a dungeon run miserable. Heaven forbids if you have more than 1 player in a group like that. Then it can be hell to deal with.

  6. January 5, 2010 at 7:06 am

    All I’ve run into so far are run-of-the-mill ninjas. That really takes the cake.

    I don’t get the 15 minute wait for vote kick. It becomes apparent pretty early on the guy needs to be kicked, but not much can be done about it at that point. By the time the 15 minutes has elapsed, the jerk’s douche factor has metastasized to unbearable proportions.

    Poor design on Blizzard’s part.

  7. 7 Selyndia
    January 5, 2010 at 12:16 pm

    I find 15 minutes a long time as well. I mean, even with slow groups, instances normally take about 30 minutes or so; having to tolerate some idiot for half of the instance seems unnecessary.

    Had a situation earlier this week in which there was a tank who had a spat with the healer. The tank then refused to move or pull anything more and wouldn’t leave group unless the group vote kicked the healer. Due to the time, neither the healer nor the tank could be vote kicked so the rest of the group just got to sit there or take the deserter debuff…


Leave a Reply

Tweet-adins

  • What is this nonsense? HoPo and a total overhaul. It's going to be a long weekend of playing around.. 3 years ago

Categories


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

