15
Oct
09

The effects of Unhittable

My set got used for the first time last night

I wanted to dedicate a separate post to this, because I didn’t want it to get lost in the ranting over my bag space and my crappy wipe on ToTGC. For the 50 attempts remaining fight, I was unsure if my set was ready or not, so I didn’t use it. This actually gave me an opportunity to compare sets. For my first attempt, I used my BiS effective health set which in the 10 man topped off at 50k hp and about 63% avoidance. In that fight, which lasted 5:22 (because of the loss in dps), I took a total of almost 317,000 damage from the burrowers. Once I switched over to my unhittable set, I only took 77,000 damage, and most of that was from my conceding to turning around and running to get them to an ice patch on the second surface phase.

I am well aware that this tactic is not something that I will do on 25 man, as I will be instantly killed, but as I was still testing out the effectiveness of the set from both the blocking stand point, and my survivability with only 36,0000 hp, I wanted to see what I could take, and also wanted to get those pesky buggers over to an ice patch before they burrowed. Below is a snapshot from the two fights. As you can see in the first attempt there was a shadow step as well as the wipe damage from me DI-ing someone and the adds killing people, where as in the unhittable set, everything went smooth, and I took significantly less damage.
Screen shot 2009-10-15 at 8.43.01 AMScreen shot 2009-10-15 at 8.42.23 AM

As for what is yet to come, We are going into ToTGC 25 man this sunday and getting a little help from a world top 50 guild to try and pass up all of the brute force progression guilds on the server. We had two top 100 guilds on our server until one of them imploded, now we are down to one, but it would be sweet, sweet irony if we could beat them to the kill! Here goes nothing with my Unhittable set and tanking four adds at once…

1 Response to “The effects of Unhittable”


  1. October 15, 2009 at 1:21 pm

    I run out of mana if I’m not very careful on 10-mans.

    I wish you the very best of luck on 25man Anub. It’s certainly a massive step up from anything else in the instance. The good news is that it’s an extremely repeatable and stable fight, once you’ve got it learned. If you want to PM me over on MT, I’ll happily discuss the fight with you, if you want my perspective. Until we get Insanity, I’m not really at liberty to discuss our strat much, since it does differ somewhat from what I’ve read, but I hope to knock it off tonight. Frustration was a 70k wipe last week with Insanity on the line.


Leave a Reply

Tweet-adins

  • What is this nonsense? HoPo and a total overhaul. It's going to be a long weekend of playing around.. 4 years ago

Categories


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

